PDA

View Full Version : Edge Contractors Camaroon ltd / Fake Job Scam


JOHNVEE
29 March 2011, 13:20
Can you please help me. I had a job offer from Edge Contractors Camaroon ltd

mysteryquest
29 March 2011, 13:23
@ JOHNVEE Please post all the details of this job offer if we are going to help you evaluate it. That would include the email address it came from, a website if there is one, and the text of the email that contained the offer. Please remember to remove any personal details.

Dodobird
29 March 2011, 14:00
Johnvee,

The job offer is a scam. There is NO job, just a bunch of useless fees these criminals will try and make you pay for a job that doesn't exist.

I found one of their ads here, the ridiculously high salaries should be a dead giveaway of the scam;

http://middleeast.co/international-job-offer-42640.html
INTERNATIONAL JOB OFFER

Company: EGDE CONTRACTORS CAMEROON
Industry: Construction
Occupation: CONTRACT
Based on: CAMEROON

WORK INTERNATIONALLY

I hereby announce to the public that EDGE CONTRACTORS CAMEROON is currently
recruiting skilled workers to work in their new office in Cameroon for the
RECONSTRUCTION OF THE LIMBE SEA PORT AND A CREATION OF AN INTERNATIONAL STANDARD STADIUM.
we make your recruitment process simple, focused, fast and comprehensive.
If you are a qualified or part qualified journey man or artisan in the following positions:

ARCHITECTS
CONSTRUCTION ENGINEERS
PIPE LAYERS
ELECTRICIAN WITH A WIRE MAN,S LICENCE
WELDERS
DRIVERS
CIVIL ENGINEERS
MECHANICAL ENGINEERS
ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS

SALARIES
ENGINEERS … $150 to $ 200 hour
ARCHITECTS .. $ 100 to $ 150 per hour
DRIVERS ……. $ 70 to $ 100 hours
Workers …. $ 60 PER HOUR

Business days are Mondays to Saturdays and Sundays are for rest and
relaxation.we offer about 132 hours of work per month, on favorable
terms.

Only qualified candidates who are ready to work abroad should apply
and employment runs until March 31

CONTACT US WITH YOUR CV.

Thanks
Mr.Morgan
Recuitement Office
EDGE CONTRACTORS CAMEROON
edge_contractors@yahoo.com

Unregistered
29 March 2011, 21:24
i've been in correspondance with these people and have not yet sent money but would like to know if there is a way to catch these criminals

mysteryquest
29 March 2011, 22:45
i've been in correspondance with these people and have not yet sent money but would like to know if there is a way to catch these criminals

There isn't. They use fake names, free email addresses, pre-paid mobile telephone numbers which are not traceable and don't require identification and they convince victims to send money via Western Union/MoneyGram which allows them to pick up the money without identifying themselves. See the information on WU/MG below my post. What you can do is post their details which will assist others in avoiding the scam. Please post the emails you have received from them making sure to delete your personal information.

Unregistered
15 April 2011, 14:58
Can you please help me. I had a job offer from Edge Contractors Camaroon ltd

Please help me.... have you heard of a scam with Arab Contractors in Cameroon offering my son empoyment. It sounds too good to be true their email is arabcontractors_cameroon@ymail.com
They are very persistent.

Kind regards
<removed by the moderator>

Unregistered
15 April 2011, 15:07
Arab Contractors Cameroon are offering my son a driver's job for a FANTASTIC $115 per hour and asking for upfront money of $570 to secure accommodation. Is this a scam, do you know anything about these recruiters?

Kind regards
A concerned mother

Dodobird
15 April 2011, 15:09
Any job offer from arabcontractors_cameroon@ymail.com is a scam. We already have them posted as such in the Dutch section of the forum (http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?p=126007).

Please post all of their contact details for others to find in a search here. :)

This is one of their fake offers of work, as posted on internet;

http://www.buysell.ph/17/posts/5_Jobs/46_General_Employment/195748_International_job_offers.html
Job Title : construction
Job Type : Full-Time
Educational Requirements : High School or Equivalent
Experience Requirement : Not Applicable
Company Type : Direct Employer


Company: THE ARAB CONTRACTORS
Industry: CONSTRUCTION
Occupation: FULL-TIME
Based in: CAMEROON
Employment area:CAMEROON

I hereby announce to the public and the contractors is currently recruiting skilled workers to work in Cameroon.We are recruiting Civil engineers, mechanical engineers, electrical engineers,Architects, drivers,Welders and other workers ...

SALARIES:
ENGINEERS ... $185 to $ 270 per hour
ARCHITECTS .. $ 145 to $ 215 per hour
DRIVERS ....... $ 80 to $ 120 per hour
WELDERS.........$95 to 190 per hour
Workers .... $ 95 per hour

Business days are Mondays to Saturdays and Sundays are for rest and relaxation.we offer about 132 hours of work per month, on favorable terms. Only qualified candidates who are ready to work abroad should apply and employment runs until 31st April 2011.
Benefits: Round trip ticket, accommodation after a month of work,health insurance, Overtime and indemnity agreement.
contact us directly via our e-mail arabcontractors_cameroon@ymail.com

Dodobird
15 April 2011, 15:15
Arab Contractors Cameroon are offering my son a driver's job for a FANTASTIC $115 per hour and asking for upfront money of $570 to secure accommodation. Is this a scam, do you know anything about these recruiters?

Kind regards
A concerned mother

ANY offer of a job requiring advance fees is a scam. I've already answered the specific part of the email in my post above.

Unregistered
15 April 2011, 15:20
Anybody out there; Please take care if you have been fooled by these people; arabcontractors_cameroon@ymail.com
limbe_city_apartment-rentals@gawab.com

They offered unbelievable hourly rates to my unsuspecting son (driver) and lovely apartments for rent.

Thank you FRAUDWATCHERS for watching out for us

Regards
A concerned mother

shugie
25 February 2012, 02:20
I was offered a contract by edge contractors to work in cameroon.
They have sent me this contract ive done all they asked me too.
I just have afeeling i have been scammed ,could you check to see if i have been scammed?

mysteryquest
25 February 2012, 02:47
Well I'm sure its a scam but to be sure please post the the website, email address, and telephone number of the "company" that made the offer. In fact, please post the actual email. Please also review this thread: http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=49005 Google is your friend. Use it.

mysteryquest
25 February 2012, 02:53
No real company uses a free email address! You can ignore any offer you receive from a "company" using a free email address as a scam!

shugie
27 February 2012, 11:27
HI TO ALL OUT THERE ,I HAVEA CONTRACT WHITH EDGE CONSTRUCTION.
Iam in daily contact whith the personell manager from edge,i had to pay up front for 3 months accomadation,which cost me 14000ZAr South African rands.they said they needed the receipt to send whith my pappers, to the ministry for approval,now they say i must pay another 700$ for my visa and other pappers,and authification of my contract.Is all this legit or a scam?
The contact details i have for edge construction is as follows:
Office:No 14Street6Bamenda Cameroon.
Personell Manager:Dr.N.Ndongong Augustine.Tel No:+23774511521.
Fax:+23733654896.
Email:edge.conltd@rocketmail.com.
Hotel:Novotel Apartments :tel phone No:0023722023349
Can you Please help me to find out if this is indeed a scam!
Thankyou.
Shugie

Shuecraft
27 February 2012, 13:30
Yes it is a scam. You will not find any legitimate supplies in Cameroon via online activities, they are ALL frauds.

mysteryquest
27 February 2012, 14:26
No real company uses a free email address, especially one selected to match their supposed company name like: edge.conltd@rocketmail.com That is always an indication of a scam. No job or contract requires you to pay upfront fees, that is always an indication of a scam.