Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Scam Email Repository - 419 Email Formats > Police/FBI/Government Impersonation

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10 September 2009, 12:03
Crux Polaris's Avatar
Crux Polaris Crux Polaris is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
ESTA travel registration scam

The US has put in place, from January of this year, an electronic travel registration system for visitors (tourists) to the USA, coming from the Visa Waiver Program countries.

A list of these countries, and information about the program, can be found here.

The ESTA registration is FREE. There is NO CHARGE for the ESTA registration, and if you are approved, the registration is valid for two years. That doesn't mean you can stay in the US for two years, it means you don't have to register with ESTA for that time.
More specific info is here, in the ESTA FAQ.

There are numerous websites that claim to be the ESTA registration at the moment. The most infamous one is www.ESTA.US. This is a commercial service, seemingly to "help" you register for an ESTA travel authorization. They have the look and feel of a government website, and will even inform you that having a third party complete your ESTA registration may complicate your process. You should only do it yourself, they say, that being on their website and by paying their fee (USD 49.95).

There are other such "services" out there. If you use one of them, you can not be sure that the application has been filed, and you are risking deportation when you arrive in the US, denied entry, and later Visa application problems.

The ESTA registration MUST be filled out here; https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/
This is the US Government site for ESTA applicants. Your ESTA application should NEVER be filled out ANYWHERE else. Remember to follow the instructions precisely.

Again, the ESTA application process is mandatory for people visiting the US as tourists, coming from the VWP countries. The ESTA application should be filled out here: https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/ - and nowhere else. The ESTA application is FREE of charge. If you are asked to pay for it, you are being scammed.

-CP-
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 04:39.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.