Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers

Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers Are you worried about buying or selling? Need to know about a company or a website before you buy? Ask here for advice.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 1 May 2006, 15:43
greendrop greendrop is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Question 'WAFMU' IS THIS A NEW ONE?

I posted t shirts left over from a promo for sell on net. Contacted by a business (yes located in Togo), sent samples, sent invoice..all agreed. The day the payment was to be wired I got e mail from 'The West African Funds Monitoring Unit' stating the wire was stopped as there was no proof such as 'airbill', etc that the $ was not for fraud, or terrorist activity. Then BTCI banque e mailed me similar message. Jist is I am suppose to send .05% of the invoice total first to clear the wire transfer. I have not done and now company is offering to pay 1/2 of fee if I pay the other and I have started getting phone calls.. The last e mail I got from 'WAFMU' was a little threatening and demanded an apology from me because I questioned thier existance. They are telling me this is a new government formed/backed group put in place to monitor/limit all the scams & frauds coming from the area. Could this be? I did a search on 'WAFMU' and came up with nothing. The deal for the t shirts is not any kind of great deal, I am not really making any money so it is not a 'too good to be true' type thing.
Anyone seen any kind of scam like this before? Any opinions or knowledge appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 1 May 2006, 16:03
Daneel's Avatar
Daneel Daneel is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
The use of the term WAFMU is probably all that is new about it The rest is typical 419 scammer tactics. Offering to pay half of the fee (if they were legit, why only half?) and threatening/intimidating their intended victims is common as dirt.

This email you got from the BTCI banque probably came from some kind of free email address. If you post it here (preferably with full headers ) that can be easily confirmed. If it didn't come from a free email address then that means they set up a domain to impersonate a bank, and we can usually get those shut down, costing the scammers a bit of hard cash.

I would recommend you ignore any further emails you get from them. If they call, just hang up. No reason to be polite.
__________________
Thinking of buying gadgets on the internet? Read here first. And there is no such thing as cheap stuff from China, at least when it comes to famous brand names. Read here.

"FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC"
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 1 May 2006, 20:29
greendrop greendrop is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Question WAFMU

Thanks for the reply...the e mail address was btci_tg@gawab.com. The attachment was on full letterhead. I have not seen any examples in your files that seem close to what I have gotten, should I send this site copies of the forms I have been sent? Thank You
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 1 May 2006, 23:16
Shamfien Shamfien is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I really think that is enough information.

The banks email address is "btci_tg@gawab.com"
www.gawab.com is a free email provider(like hotmail.com or walla.com)
Banks will havetheir own domain name and do not use a free email address.

You can sign up for an email address like elvis@gawab.com
This makes them as much of a bank as it would make you elvis

I am sure that you will now be contacted by the FBI
(theFBI@yahoo.com)
__________________
"Going boldly where no man has bothered to go before"
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 2 May 2006, 00:36
Miyuki's Avatar
Miyuki Miyuki is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Welcome to FW, greendrop. It's a scam, and the best thing is to ignore anything else that comes from them.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #6  
Old 2 May 2006, 07:36
joewein's Avatar
joewein joewein is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
Hello Greendrop,

it's an import scam where a large order is used as bait to get the supplier send cash upfront to the gang running the scam. It is most common in Benin but has also been reported in other countries in West Africa such as Nigeria, Cameroon and Togo.

Google still finds exactly ZERO hits on "West African Funds Monitoring Unit", which shows that this is a new twist on an old scam. If it was either legitimate or if the use of this fake instution was more established then you would find reports either way.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #7  
Old 2 May 2006, 16:59
greendrop greendrop is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Smile

Thanks for the info. I really appreciate the advice. I was really hoping to get rid of these T shirts, but I would rather be stuck with them than scammed!
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 03:30.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.