Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers

Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers Are you worried about buying or selling? Need to know about a company or a website before you buy? Ask here for advice.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 June 2006, 01:44
Unregistered
Guest
 
www.azhartrading.com

Is this seller for real or is it just a scam
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 15 June 2006, 04:12
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
The site looks decently professional in layout, it appears completely functional, the inventory is not what scammers would typically favor, since they typically favor high-priced electronics, and there are 31 hits for the company (mostly business directories and sister sites, from the looks of it) on Google. The domain has been registered since 2003, which would be very, very odd if it were a scam.

There are a few misspellings, but for a Pakistan-based company, that might be understandable. The contact phone and fax match the stated location of the company. The phone is a mobile number, apparently, but if this is a web-only business, that might not be all that unusual. The fax does appear to be a landline, which is a point in favor of legitimacy.

The "minimum order" requirements are a bit steep at $500 or 5 pieces of each item, but I see they do offer you the option of paying by credit card for an additonal fee. If you're looking for maximum consumer protection in case of non-delivery of merchandise, that would be the safest option to take. That would allow you to dispute the charges should your merchandise not arrive. The other payment methods, telegraphic wire transfer Irrevocable L/C and Western Union are a bit less secure as far as consumer protection. Western Union is especially insecure. You might as well be mailing cash directly, in that case. Keep in mind that WU does not in any way confirm the identity of the receiver or accept responsibility for any refunds should you get scammed.

In most scam sites, they stick to Western Union payments only, since they are quite easy to pick up and pretty well untraceable.

I find no hard evidence that the site has been involved in any fraud, scams, or consumer complaints. If you are thinking of placing an order with them, I don't see anything that would make me heartily warn you against doing so. I also cannot 100% guarantee that placing an order would be without risk, though. I'm afraid the only way to find out for sure is to place an order. If you feel uncomfortable about dealing with them and can find no one who has completed a satisfactory order with them, I would probably suggest finding a different vendor.

Since you didn't say why you were inquiring about this company's website, I will also throw this in. If someone claiming to be from this site/company has offered you a job "processing payments", that would be a scam. More specifically, the representative scam, discussed at length on this thread.

http://www.fraudwatchers.org/forums/...read.php?t=257

I hope that adequately covers your inquiry.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 16 June 2006, 01:21
Unregistered
Guest
 
Thanks for that
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 00:31.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.