Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers

Auctions, Sales Sites and Commercial Offers Are you worried about buying or selling? Need to know about a company or a website before you buy? Ask here for advice.

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 23 August 2006, 04:19
melgirl1120 melgirl1120 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Need Help, Is this a scam??

http://www.bestbabyemporium.com/page/page/3779687.htm

I belong to a mommy/baby message board and this link was posted, a ton of moms ordered from this site, cheap cheap stuff with free shipping!!! I even made a fake order of $600 worth of stuff and shipping was still free!! Lots of moms are worried because nobody can contact anyone from this site by either phone or email, messages have been left and NO replies!!

I was wondering if you could help me find out if they are scammers or not!!!

Thanx in advance

Also when they send your confirmation order their email addy is- <unknown>
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 23 August 2006, 08:08
FW Admin's Avatar
FW Admin FW Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Languages:
The WHOIS output:
Quote:
Domain Name: BESTBABYEMPORIUM.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Name Server: NS2.DOMAINCITYSERVERS.COM
Name Server: NS1.DOMAINCITYSERVERS.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
EPP Status: clientDeleteProhibited
EPP Status: clientUpdateProhibited
EPP Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 14-Aug-2006
Creation Date: 14-Aug-2006
Expiration Date: 14-Aug-2007
The Registrant contact details are:
Quote:
Registrant Contact:
James Wellman (bremond@excite.com)
+1.6044304588
Fax:
875 N shepherd
houston,
US
The contact details are the same for Administrative and Technical. Registered for one year (which sets off alarm bells). Has anyone been able to contact this individual about it?
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 23 August 2006, 13:21
melgirl1120 melgirl1120 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
No, nobody has been able to contact this person!! Many ladies have tried to call but only get an answering service type of thing!! Also people have sent plenty of emails with no reply's!! Many ladies emailed to cancel their order including myself and got an email back saying that my order has been canceled from this email- einthoven1863@sbcglobal.net
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 23 August 2006, 15:54
Goz Goz is offline
Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
The website is cloned from here. Their main domain DMART2000.COM was registered in 1999 so they seem to be bona fide.

The phone number in the WHOIS (+1.6044304588) comes back as being in Vancouver, despite a Houston address being given. Unfortunately it looks like a scam to me.

It may be difficult to identify the person responsible for the scam, and to get a refund from them. In the UK a credit card company is generally jointly liable for any loss you suffer from a fraudlulent trader. If the law is similar in the USA/Canada then you should approach the credit card issuer for a refund.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 23 August 2006, 18:01
Nyla's Avatar
Nyla Nyla is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Languages:
In the States, you can certainly contact your credit card company and let them know any charge from this merchant is unauthorized/contested if a charge shows up and there is no merchandise shipped.

Of course, the more likely scenario, if it is a scam, is that the scammer iis not after a fake charge against your credit card, they're going to use your credit card details to order merchandise from other online merchants and hope you don't notice the charge until they already have the merchandise. Probably best to either have your credit card company either put a fraud alert on the card, or cancel it and issue you a new number.

For those who placed an order with their credit card, they should phone the 800 number and speak to the credit card company directly about the situation.

Has anyone reported the dodgy domain or notified the (apparently) real merchant that had their site cloned, yet?
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 02:25.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.