Fraudwatchers  
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Fraudwatchers > Internet Fraud Support and Information > Is This a Scam? > Don't Get Bullied!

Don't Get Bullied! In many instances, scammers will not give up a victim easily, and may make frightening or bullying threats. This is how to say "NO".

» Non-Registered Users
You are seeing this module because you are showing as an unregistered user - have you forgotten to log in?

As an unregistered user, you may view and post in the general forums (where applicable); however all posts you make are "moderated" (i.e. placed into a moderation queue to be approved) before they are visible on the site. Please, therefore, refrain from posting duplicate posts as these will simply be deleted.

This also applies to those of you that have registered, but have not yet validated your email address. Please check your email inbox for an email that was sent by this site, and either click on the link provided therein, or copy and paste the link into your browser address bar. Until such time as you have verified your registration, you will have the same privileges as an unregistered user.

If you have not received your confirmation/validation email, please use our Contact Us form to request us to resend your validation details.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 8 June 2011, 06:24
Unregistered
Guest
 
Unhappy loreal lipgloss scam-i gave my mailing address...

I found this offer of loreal lip gloss sample and i completed it. It asked my name(i gave only my first 3 letters of my first name and the first 3 letters of my last name) i gave my mailing address and my cell phone. Here is the link for the sample scam: http://www.mygiftcentre.net/?session...950d5ba83e1266

what could happen if they have this info from me? please let me know.
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #2  
Old 8 June 2011, 13:07
Dodobird's Avatar
Dodobird Dodobird is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Languages:
Unregistered,

What makes you think that this website is a scam?
__________________
The beginning of wisdom is to call things by their right names
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #3  
Old 9 June 2011, 05:52
Unregistered
Guest
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodobird View Post
Unregistered,

What makes you think that this website is a scam?

because some window ads popped up and at the end it asked me to enter my phone number so that they can send me the code and also it looked like it is a scam. i hope it is not a scam but some friends also told me it is a total scam...
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #4  
Old 9 June 2011, 13:13
poirot's Avatar
poirot poirot is offline
Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Languages:
http://dnstools.com/?count=1&lookup=....NET&submit=Go!
Quote:
Domain Name: MYGIFTCENTRE.NET
Registrant:
123 Click, Inc
P.O Box 5225
Harrisburg, PA 17110
US

Record expires on 09-Oct-2011.
Record created on 09-Oct-2008.
It's been around since 2008 and is legitimate. You can research complaints regarding 123 Click
Reply With Quote To the Top
  #5  
Old 11 June 2011, 12:51
druiddude's Avatar
druiddude druiddude is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Languages:
IT people sometimes refer to such schemes as 'survey scams', though they are not criminal scams, they are misleading promotions.

They are generally run by legitimate businesses (legitimate as in legal - they file tax returns) and usually hold out the promise of a reward for participating in various marketing surveys, some of which can require purchases.

Here's the disclaimer from the web page indicated by the OP:

Quote:
SUMMARY OF PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS. Your time and the personal information you share with us is of value to us and to our partners. They allow us to give you, in exchange, a reward at potentially no monetary product costs to you. To receive the reward you must: 1) be a Canadian resident at least 18 years of age or older; 2) register with valid information; 3) complete the following reward offers: 2 Silver offers, 1 Gold offer, and 1 Platinum offer (Available reward offers will vary. Some reward offers require a purchase. Credit card offers may require you to activate the card by making a purchase, transferring a balance or taking a cash advance. Click on the following links to go directly to the reward offer pages: Silver Offers, Gold Offers, Platinum Offers); and 4) follow the redemption instructions. This includes sending your redemption certificate within 15 days of approval of your final offer. All program requirements must be completed within 60 days of the date of registration. Completion of optional offers and survey pages is not required to qualify for the reward. Please read the Terms & Conditions for complete program details. Your information will be shared with our marketing partners (this is a condition to your participation in the reward program). Please read the Privacy Policy for more details. If you have any questions regarding this reward program, please Contact Us
Note that this is far from a free offer and if you read the above carefully you will find that the disclaimers "a reward at potentially no monetary product costs to you", and "Some reward offers require a purchase."

I consider this to be a scam because it says "free" on the front and then says "maybe not free" in the terms. But this is business, not crime, it's like that FREE OFFER (with every $1,000 purchase).

The good news is that information gathered will not be used for purposes more nefarious than marketing!
Reply With Quote To the Top
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time is now 12:44.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
©2005-2010 Fraudwatchers dot Org
 
Copyright Notice
All internal graphics and content of this site is copyright ©FraudWatchers.Org unless otherwise acknowledged. Direct linking to any part of this site (including 'hot' linking'), especially graphics either contained within posts/articles or stand-alone, with the intention of drawing bandwidth from the service provider, is strictly prohibited. Reproduction of articles, posts, news items, and/or linking to same through a URL link is welcomed providing acknowledgement of both the author and Fraudwatchers.Org is given, and the context within which the original material was published remains intact. Reproduction and publication of such material is strictly prohibited if such is made with the intent to mislead or deceive.